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Smokefree owa
An introduction to the new law. 

The Iowa Smokefree 
Air Act 

Effective July 1, 2008, smoking will 

no longer be allowed in enclosed 

public places, including places of 

employment, restaurants, and bars. 

The Iowa Department of Public 

Health is here to help you 

understand the new Smokefree Air 

Act. Visit our Web site for complete 

details about this new law. To report 

any violations, call 1 888 944 2247, 

or fill out a complaint form at 

www.IowaSmokefreeAir.gov. 
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The Smokefree Air Act – 
protecting the health of Iowans


In the spring of 2008, Iowa 

lawmakers passed legislation to 

protect employees and the general 

public. The Smokefree Air Act 

prohibits smoking in enclosed areas 

within places of employment, as well 

as some outdoor areas. 

At the Iowa Department of Public Health, we’re 

here to help you understand this new law. We 

can explain which areas are covered and which 

are not. We can also help you understand the 

requirements for businesses. We’ve created a Web 

site and a Helpline to give you all the details, and 

make it easier to comply with the new law. 

Which areas are covered? 
Which are not? 

The law applies to restaurants, bars, food 

service establishments, outdoor sports arenas 

and amphitheaters. It also covers places of 

employment such as office buildings, health care 

facilities, and child care facilities. Smoking is 

allowed on the gaming floor of a licensed casino, 

as well as designated hotel and motel rooms. 

Be sure to refer to our Web site below for 

complete information about areas which 

are required to be smokefree. 

Following the law is easy. 

To comply with the new law, businesses 

need to do several things. They must: post 

“no-smoking” signs at entrances to non-smoking 

areas; inform all employees about the provisions 

of the law; and remove all ashtrays from areas 

where smoking is prohibited. They should also 

ask people who are smoking in a non-smoking 

area of their business to stop smoking or to 

leave the area. Failure to comply with the law 

may result in a civil fine of $100, $200, or $500 

depending on the number of violations. The 

business could also lose their business license 

or liquor license. 

For complete details, visit www.IowaSmokefreeAir.gov. 
Questions? Give us a call at 1-888-944-2247. 


